The Warragul Cup is one of 11 greyhound racing country cups held throughout Victoria each year.

The race has a rich history, first won in 1956 by Rocketeer, and it is the premier event hosted by the Warragul Greyhound Racing Club.

In an Australian regional first, the Gippsland Carnival is incorporating and connecting four country cups – Sale (December), Warragul (January), Cranbourne (February), and Traralgon (March) – for an epic journey of greyhound racing that has never been seen before and holds more than $800,000 in prize money across the series.

The Warragul Cup is the second leg of the Gippsland Carnival – to be run on January 28 – which will see both sprint and staying greyhounds compete for the title of the Gippsland Carnival’s Sprint or Distance Champion.


Status: Group 2
Distance: 460m
Sponsor: Endeavour Locksmiths
Final: Saturday 28 January (twilight)

Prize money in Final: $47,000 (1st); $13,350 (2nd); $6,650 (3rd); Total: $67,000
Heats: Saturday 21 January (twilight)
Prize money in heats: $5,000 (1st); $1,500 (2nd); $750 (3rd); Total: $7,250 (per heat)
Nominations close: Tuesday 17 January, 2016 at 11am. 


$30 Family packages valued at $100 including a $30 food and beverage voucher, show bags and more!

Punters Club with James Van de Maat – for just $10 per ticket, let expert race caller James Van de Maat do the punting for you!

Colours On Course – fashion enthusiasts have the opportunity to frock up and model their best representation of the eight greyhound rugs.

Acoustic singer Joss Russell will entertain the crowd during the twilight event with live music.

Turbo’s Trackside Corner including face painting, a balloon artist, Turbo jumping castle and inflatable slide plus free activity bags for every child on course.

Meet some of our friendly greyhounds from the Greyhound Adoption Program (GAP).

Food trucks to keep your tummies full.

Ever wanted to race your own greyhound? Experience the thrill of racing with the multi-player interactive game on course.


2016 To The Galo’s
Ronray Spirit
2014 Walk Hard
2013 Nitro Cee
2012 Stagger
2011 El Grand Senor

WATCH: To The Galo’s lead from start to finish from box four in the 2016 Group Two Warragul Cup. 

WATCH: Gippsland Carnival – Battle of the Dogs